



The Family Tree of de Forest's Audion Illustrations by Cosgrave, from Fanning's "Fathers of Industries"

The Mercer Pub. Co., N. Y.



SILVER ANNIVERSARY DINNER AND AWARDS THURSDAY MAY 26, 1977 OFFICERS CLUB, GOVERNORS ISLAND New York, N. Y.

Society of the Pioneer Associates of DR. LEE deFOREST, Father of Radio

ESTABLISHED 1952

Twenty-fifth Anniversary Dinner and Awards Meeting, held jointly with the VETERAN WIRELESS OPERATORS ASSOCIATION.

GREETINGS TO ALL By J. R. Poppele

President deFOREST PIONEERS and of V. W. O. A.

The reports for 1976 of Kenneth Richardson, as Secretary-Treasurer will be submitted to the membership.

Presentation by J. R. Poppele of our Merit Award CERTIFICATES to:---

<u>FRANK BRAYNARD</u> Who Conceived South Street Museum in New York for future display of deFOREST Ship-Shore Wireless Equipment.

FRANK CASSIDY For His Early Studies of deFOREST Electronic Transmission Techniques which He Expanded Into Satellite Communication.

AUSTIN G. COOLEY Wireless Installations and Operation 1916 deFOREST Transmitters in Alaska and California.

EDWARD DERVISHIAN For His Research with Dr. deFOREST on Color Television and Medical Diathermy.

LOYD DOPKINS Prepared Original Service Techniques 1916-1925 for deFOREST Wireless Transmitters.

RICHARD C. GRIFFITHS Recipient of Marconi Gold Medal 1958 Representing Marconi International Marine Communication, --- Early Users of deFOREST Wireless Equipment.

FRANK GUNTHER Original Developer of Short-Wave Equipment Using deFOREST Vacuum Tubes.

<u>ROBERT H. KNELL</u> Associated with Radio Corporation of America, --- early users of deFOREST Shipboard Transmitting Equipment; and His Dedication to the Growth of Wireless Communication.

SIDNEY A. WOOD Early Associate of Dr. deFOREST 1916-1922; Research in Filament Alloys deFOREST AUDIONS.

GUEST SPEAKER:

Comdr. J. NEIL MacDONALD "THE AMVER STORY", (16mm) a Dramatic Coast Guard Saga. (Recently on WOR)

The use of the banquet facilities of the Officers Club on Governors Island was cleared by our friend Col. Harry Blatt, V.W.O.A. Board member. We thank those concerned. RECIPIENTS OF THE ANNUAL deFOREST PIONEERS MERIT AWARDS From 17th Meeting of Feb. 7, 1969 through 24th Meeting of May 7, 1976

Dr. Charles Eisler Fred Feldman Paul F. Godley LeRoy Bremmer Kenneth Richardson Dr. Elman B. Myers Frank L. Marx Fred M. Link Darby & Darby, Att. Henry Paulisen Eugene Rietzke Leroy M. Glodell Gilson. V. Willets

Geo. F. Duvall Wm. C. Simon Ray E. Meyers E. Frank Duskis Frank Ballard Dexter Bartlett Wm. A. Breniman Arthur Trauffer Maurice H. Zouary Neal K. McNaughten Lloyd Espenschied M. Harvey Gernsback

Henry J. Wilkins Arthur H. Lynch Jack R. Poppele Frank Merriam Frank Neuner E. J. Quinby Ed. G. Raser Ellery W. Stone Oliver Wyckoff, Sr. John T. Örr

De Forest Pioneers, Inc.

CURRENT ACTIVE MEMBERSHIP

11-Ellery W. Stone 17-Loyd Dopkins 20-E. J. Quinby 21-Robert C. Reinhardt 22-Kenneth Richardson 24-Henry J. Wilkens 26-Henry F. Bollendonk 28-Frank F. Neuner 40-Frank S. LeRoy 42-Betty Marino 46-Edward G. Raser 47-D. E. Replogle 61-Robert H. Wendeborn 83-Fred M. Link 93-Ephraim F. Duskis 98-Dexter S. Bartlett 101-Harold Floyd Beck 103-Charles E. Maps 104-Peter Kailus 108-Sidney A. Wood 109-Gerhard R. Fisher 110-Austin G. Cooley lll-C. Frederick Wolcott 112-Arthur H. Lynch 117-Anita R. Martine 119-Lloyd Espenschied 121-Louise R. Moreau 123-Joseph E. Tringali 124-Bernard Freericks 135-Jack R. Poppele 137-Paul H. Krieger 138-Edward Dervishian

141-William R. MacLeod 143-Abram W. Moss 145-Ralph L. Hazelton 146-Ray E. Meyers 148-Eugene H. Rietzke 149-Oliver Harold Brewster 151-John T. Orr 153-James F. Woods 154-Robert S. Bell 155-William P. Cox 157-Lester R. Reiss 161-Leroy M. Glodell 162-Charles W. Horn 163-E. W. Freeman 164-Maurice H. Zouary 165-Henry Huestis 166-Marguerite E. Warshaw IM--Fred Feldman (WOR) LM--Marie deForest 167-Wallace E. Francisco 168-Frank Orth 169-Arthur Trauffer 170-Joseph Walker 171-William R. Otter

PIONEERS! If not as yet a member of our organization, write to Secretary for an application.

The AUDION Tube



of 1906

The <u>deFOREST PIONEERS SCHOLARSHIP AWARD FUND</u> was established by us in 1961 at Yale University, for Yale to grant scholarships to outstanding graduates in physics, approximately each year. In honor of Dr. Lee deForest, Yale Ph.B 1896; Ph.D 1899; and Sc.D (honorary) 1926. Recipients through 1976 are:

1961-Taber deForest 1962-Timothy Bayer 1964-George P. O'Leary 1965-Robert Poggioli 1966-Chris Quigg 1968-Arnold Lee Polinger 1969-Wilfred Lam 1970-Albert Man-Fai Iau 1971-Michael Ira Ratner 1972-Jonathan Schonfeld 1973-Wayne Masao Itano 1974-Andrew P. Buchalter 1975-John A. Hoffnagle 1976-Nicholas J. Hadley



J. R. Poppele, President. Kenneth Richardson, Secy-Treas. John T. Orr, Assist. Secy.

DeFOREST PIONEERS, Inc.

Kenneth Richardson 254 Vincent Ave. Lynbrook, N. Y. 11563

Bulletin composition and layout by Kenneth Richardson editor of deFOREST PIONEERS NEWSLETTERS