

An Outline History of the Society of Wireless Pioneers

1968 - February

Bill Breniman and 44 others meet to form organization of professional wireless/ radio operators. R. H. Johnstone is named its first President.

1968 - October

Richard H. "Dick" Johnstone, K6FQ, inaugurates first SOWP amateur radio net. He became a Silent Key October 9, 1972..

1970 - 1971 Frank Geisel [FG] is Society's second President.

<u>1972 - 1976</u> Eben K. Cady [EB] serves as our third President.

<u> 1975 - May</u>

Bill Breniman receives award as SOWP founder and editor/publisher from DeForest Pioneers, Inc. Later in 1975 a similar award is presented to Mr. Breniman by the Antique Wireless Association.

<u> 1976 - June</u>

SOWP Articles of Incorporation are approved by State of California.

1976 - 1980 Founder Bill Breniman [CX] is 4th SOWP President.

1977 - Spring

First issue of SPARKS JOURNAL is released, edited and published by Bill Breniman. who has also become SOWP Executive Secretary.

<u>1981 - 1984</u> Judge James H. Brown is 5th SOWP President.

1984 - November

Bill Breniman receives the Ralph Batcher Award from the Radio Club of America, New York, NY for preserving history of radio and electronic communications.

<u>1985 - 1988</u> Donald K. DeNeuf is 6th SOWP President. He became a Silent Key July 24, 1988 succeeded by William C. Willmot.

<u> 1987 - December</u>

Bill Breniman resigns as Executive Secretary at 86, succeeded by Paul N. Dane. SOWP headquarters are moved to 146 Coleen St., Livermore, CA 94550 USA.

<u>1989 - March</u>

First issue of newsletter, The World Wireless Beacon, is published.

<u> 1990 - December</u>

Mr. Dane becomes SOWP President upon resignation of Mr. Willmot. Bill Breniman continues as Chairman, SOWP Board of Governors and President Emeritus.

Continued, next page

(3)

SOWP Outline History (Continued from Page 3)

1992 - July

Ballots distributed to members to amend SOWP Articles of Incorporation, Constitution and By-Laws.

1992 - November

State of California issues new Charter to SOWP, based on membership approval of amendments.

1993 - January 1

Waldo T. Boyd, 2958-P, K6DZY, becomes Executive Secretary, taking over from Paul N. Dane. SOWP Headquarters relocated to Geyserville, CA.

<u>1993 - August 1</u>

U.S. Coast Guard ceases monitoring of 500 kHz at all its shore stations (CAMSPAC/NMC; CAMSLANT/NMN, Boston, MA/NMF,NIK).

1993 - November

Full Non-Profit [501(c)(3)] status granted to SOWP by Internal Revenue Service (IRS) and U.S. Postal Service (USPS).

<u> 1994 - July</u>

John J. Kelleher, 2581-P, W4ZC, is appointed SOWP President by Paul N. Dane, 2195-V, W6WOW, who retires.

1995 - April

U. S. Coast Guard ends all HFCW service. Ceremony is held at CAMSLANT/NMN, Chesapeake, VA. SOWP member Joseph Gardner, Ph.D., 5068-M, K7CI, a former CG radio operator, is keynote speaker. SOWP President Kelleher is among several hundred guests.

<u> 1996 - January</u>

John Kelleher begins regular term as SOWP President following a membership vote. Ben Russell, 1853-V, N6SL, becomes SOWP Senior Vice President.

1996 - March

SOWP opens an Internet Web Site, with Dr. Joe Gardner, Fairmont, WV in charge at (http://access.mountain.net/~carto/sowp001.htm).

<u> 1997 - March</u>

SOWP publishes book, *The Wireless Almanac,* by Fred Rosebury, 1570-SGP, KA1GEN. Fred is 96 years young.

<u> 1997 - April</u>

Musical play *TTANIC* opens on Broadway, New York City, in the 85th year since the British White Star liner eank in the North Atlantic on April 14-15, 1912.

1998 - February

The Society of Wireless Pioneers, Inc. marks 30th Anniversary of its beginning.